Sandwich: The Last Part

Image result for a couple sitting under tree

When you focus on how to end a story, you get lost and it becomes difficult to put the pieces together. But when you focus on the story, when you go with the flow and let the characters unleash the drama, the end just comes along. That’s what I realized while writing this series. I had so many different endings and I was confused and that’s when I realized I need to go where the story takes me and this is where it has brought me. So my friend, this is the end and I hope you like it. I’ll let you go through the emotions. I’m changing the tenses because I’m taking your advice, fellow blogger. Hope I don’t mess up.

 

She is packing her bag, slogging from one room to another, her mind filled with random, never ending thoughts. She knows this is an opportunity she can’t and won’t miss but there’s a burden on her soul. She hasn’t yet spoken to Ryan.

She calls the hotel manager to tell him she will be out of town for a couple of days. She’s leaving for L.A. tomorrow. The Brown publishing house loved her poems and they want to publish it. Her dreams are finally coming true then why is it that she’s not happy. Why is something dying inside her? She Refused Jake’s proposal and it didn’t affect her much but just a fight with Ryan was tearing her apart. But it wasn’t just a fight. She had really hurt him. Maybe Ryan’s the one for her. But is it too late? What if he never wants to see her again? What if she’s lost her only true friend? Her true soulmate, perhaps? Or is she just emotional?

She packs and unpacks the whole day. Her thoughts are killing her. What if something bad happened to Ryan? Her stomach churned and her heart started sinking. She can’t leave without speaking to him. What if he’s gone by the time she comes back?

I have to go see him. I have to speak to him and tell him that I’m going to L.A. He would be so happy for me. But how am I going to face him? 

She finishes her packing, plucks up some courage and decides to meet Ryan.

Her hands trembled as she rang the doorbell. Her heart skipped a beat when she saw his face. But his smile took away all her anxiety. He hugged her tightly.

“So you’re here, finally. What took you so long?”

They were sitting under the tree they had planted in his backyard. She told him that she was going to L.A. and he couldn’t be more proud.

“I told you they would love your writings. You’re amazing at it. I’m so happy for you.” and he gave her a tight hug.

” Well the credit goes to you for making me send those to the Brown Publishing House. I never expected to hear back from them. You always say that I’m the light that guides your path but you’re the one who never lets me fall and keeps me from darkness. You never leave me alone even if that means standing in the dark with me. You’ve always been there for me with a smile on your face even if I have hurt you. Why didn’t you ever leave?”

“Because being from a broken home made me value and appreciate love even more. There’s nothing I want more than the small, basic things in life with you. When you’re in love, nothing matters except the happiness of the one you love. Even if you don’t marry me, I want you to know that I’m here always by your side and I’ll never let you fall, I promise. I might not be able to buy you fancy things in life but I’ll fill your life with so much love that nothing else will matter anymore.” 

She turned to face him.“That’s what I’m afraid of. That I might not be able to love you like that. That love might not be enough for me. As much as I love you, I want other things in life as well. I don’t want our lives to be a constant struggle and our home a battleground because of financial problems. I love you but that’s not enough for me. I need more in life and that’s why I’m going to L.A. and I haven’t told anyone about this but I can’t keep this secret from you. If everything goes fine and if they publish my work, I might not return.”

He let out a sigh. “I can’t hold you back from your aspirations. I want to see you succeed in life and I wish you get all that you desire but I want you to remember that I’ll always love you.”

With tears in her eyes, she asked, “I need time and I don’t know exactly how much I need. I don’t know if I’ll ever come back to you. I know I’m asking too much but will you wait for me?”

He smiled at her.

The air was heavy with the emotions. Words were no longer needed, they could say it all with their eyes.

“I’ll send you a postcard”, she smiled back as tears rolled down her cheeks.

They were still sitting under the tree as the sun started setting. His fingers curled around hers as the twilight embraced their bodies.

P.S. Let me know what you think about the ending and please be brutally honest.
Slog

17 thoughts on “Sandwich: The Last Part

  1. Love this: when you focus on the story, when you go with the flow and let the characters unleash the drama, the end just comes along. That’s what I realized while writing this series.

    And I like what you did with the ending! Forging a new path, unexpected, gave this a compelling twist. Also got a peek inside Ryan’s heart, and I liked what I saw (and the tree they planted!). I do wish Jake had done something awful to offend you (and reveal his less than perfect character) so that I would have closure and feel justified in severing that tie 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Okay first of all thank you so much. this series happened partly because of you. So kudos to you woman for making me write this and as far as Jake is concerned, he didn’t do anything that awful but he did try to change her lifestyle and upgrade her according to his standards but Emily was a woman of high self esteem and self respect of he ended up offending her and she realized she can never fit into his class and status and that it’s just not worth it. Thank you so much.

      Like

  2. I think I would have ended it with her leaving/walking away and either turning back to say, “I’ll send you a postcard.” Or as she is walking away whispering to herself about sending the postcard. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

